So. I did it. I completed a 1/2 marathon. Pretty much kicking and streaming the whole way. Thank god for my friend Heather. I would not have completed it without her. I’m kind of bumming though. I’m bumming because I got out of the 1/2 what I put in! Pretty much nothing. I didn’t get up early and run my long runs. I didn’t get excited. (In fact, up to 1 hour before the race I was thinking of backing out!) I didn’t get the new running shirt. (Mostly because I’m tired of buying XL everything.) I didn’t get out of the race what I should have. Don’t get me wrong.. I’m 100% happy I did it and didn’t just quit (again thanks to Heather).. but the entire time I was walking/running I couldn’t help but think how much better this could have been if I actually got on the tread mill WAAAAAAY before only 2 days before the race. I have no one to blame but me. I didn’t really snap any photos! I was more focused on breathing and getting one foot in front of the other, then hitting the shutter button on my iPhone. But I did manage a few!

Picture perfect day!

Heather and I before!

 

Ready. Set.. GO!!!

Quick photo opt on Ocean Drive!

And after! Smiling once again after a mini break down 50 feet from the finish line!

The gear!

Things I learned:

1. Don’t bite of more than you can chew.

2. Always have a running buddy with you.

3. Make sure to eat something before.

4. Try to have as much fun as possible.

5. Make friends with those running around you. (We were towards the end.. so people weren’t nearly as focused as those running much further up. We ended up with the eldest runner and a runner with child! It’s all good though!)

6. Dear Lord… run some distance before your first half. I still have no idea what I was thinking!!!

Official time: 3:28:58 (Hey tons of room for improvement.. right?!)

Thank you Heather for saving my butt!!

L

