Before we get to the steel oats.. a bit about the weekend. All day Saturday I was in Hartford learning about the 27 BRAND SPANKIN’ NEW Pampered Chef Products.

Saturday was the 1st of 3 days to choose from to attend. Therefore 2/3 of the countries Pampered Chef Consultants have no idea what the products are and I do. Kind makes me feel special! Moving on.

Sunday morning was full of classes. 7:15 knockout with Diane. A bit of a break. Then 9:30 Edge Flex with Jonathan. I have been going to knockout since April and it’s always the same bunch of people. I took a leap of faith a few weeks ago and started chatting it up. This lady named Patty, was telling me about the Edge Flex class at a different location and how great it was, and how she would help me get set up etc. So I went. Patty met me there and did what she said 🙂 Thank you Patty. So after 2 full force classes and a .5 mile walk, I can barely move right now. It’s all good though. I’m planning on a 12:15 spin class, so I might be crawling to art school tonight : )

Yesterday afternoon I felt the need to cook. While at the gym I picked up the Jan/Feb 2011 Issue of The Whole Deal from Whole Foods Market (it was on the ledge of the gym window). And inside I spotted Apple-Cinnamon Oat Squares, taken right from page 19. At first I wasn’t quite sure.. and I think I still need to twink a bit.. but after this morning I’m in love.

Apple-Cinnamon Oat Squares– I cut the recipe in half. I can’t eat it all by myself… and I’m tired of throwing things away!

  • 2 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 1.5 cups organic steel-cut oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 ground flax-seed
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 Pink Lady apples, cored and grated (I used one Red Delicious and one gala. They were from the reduced section early this week and HAD  to be used)

1. Preheat oven to 350ºF. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.

2. Transfer to a foil or parchment paper-lined 9″ square baking pan, press down and smooth out the top.

3. Bake for about 1 hour, or until firm and golden brown. Let cool, cut into squares and serve warm or at room temp.

I went wrong somewhere. They tasted AMAZING.. but something went wrong with getting them out in once piece and slicing up nicely. I used wax paper, that could be the issue? I also didn’t really let them cool too much, that could also be the issue? However, they were great and I WILL be making more soon! I cut them up and placed them in an airtight container and put them in the fridge… so I can grab them through the week… 30 seconds in the microwave.. and your good to go 🙂

Dinner was a crazy thrown together Shepherd’s Pie. All items were found in the kitchen!

I boiled the potatoes and turned them into mashed potatoes with 1/4 sour cream and 1/4 almond milk.

They were fingerling potatoes and a few were purple.. hence the purplish color!

Next, I cooked the frozen turkey meat with corn.. added in S&P, veggie broth and chipotle seasoning (a gift from the PC Spring Launch.. I’m all about the seasonings now!)

Layer. I layered the meat and corn at bottom.. topped with mashed.

I baked this bad boy at 400ºF for about 30 minutes 🙂

Overall this was great. However, I think I like my meals separate, ya know.. meat here, veggie here, starch here. Not very photo friendly either!

Took Remi to Riverwalk yesterday too! The sun was shining and I just had to jump on it!!! Not sure why I thought my lovely town would have $ to shovel the path.. but was sad to see it wasn’t done 😦  I also forgot my snowshoes.. LOL. Remi and I didn’t get very far.. but he had a good time anyway! 

NO Football for this girl this weekend… I have tons of little projects going on.. attempting to finish them up before the snow melts.. I think I have a while!

Have a great Monday!

XOXOXO

L

PS- Bad news on the Blog Status. I’m OUT OF FREE room. I had so many other photos to post.. including the great breakfast of AC Oat Squares. I’m not sure if I should upgrade… but I don’t think I’m ready to give up the blog just yet.. decisions, decisions, decisions!!!

 

 

 

 

 

