Not sure where to even begin. Last night, turned into a feast. My friend Liz decided to get snowed in at my house.. we work together.. so it would be an easier commute from my house to the office than hers. It worked for me.. for now I had 2 people to cook for instead of one. Makes cooking so much more fun:) Before leaving work I scoured the internet in search of the perfect blizzard dinner. I think I did quite well.

Sweet Potato Stacks w. Gorgonzola Dipping Sauce

  • 2 sweet potatoes shredded
  • 1/2 cup egg white substitute
  • 1/2 parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

1. Preheat oven to 425ยบ. Set wire rack on top of a baking sheet.

2. Peel and shred potatoes.

3. Add the rest of the ‘stuff’. Mix and shape into patties.

4. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until crispy ๐Ÿ™‚

So these were great.. but they needed something. Liz mentioned gorgonzola sauce. Ask and I shall create.

I put the following in a sauce pan and let it simmer away until thick.

  • 1/4 skim milk
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup on gorgonzola crumbles
  • garlic powder

All measurements can change depending on taste and texture.

These were so good.. mark my words.. I’ll be making these again ๐Ÿ™‚

On to the main course!

Macaroni & Cheese w. Cauliflower & Shrimp


(Beware: this makes ALOT of food. Liz and I ate this for dinner, then ate it for lunch, shared with the landlord upstairs and gave a few bowls full to the guy who came and help shoveled!)

  • 12 ounces multi-grain elbow macaroni
  • 1 head roughly chopped cauliflower
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 fresh flat-leaf parsley – chopped
  • 3 tables olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon grated garlic
  • S&P
  • 1 finely chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 cups grated extra sharp cheddar
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced fat-free sour cream
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard

1. Boil Marconi. With 3 minutes left, add cauliflower.

2. Drain Marconi and cauliflower.

3. Add olive oil to pot, then onion and garlic. Cook 5 minutes or so. Add shrimp. Cook until done… another 8-10 minutes.

4. Add in Marconi, cauliflower, cheese, sour cream, milk and mustard.

5. In a separate bowl, add chopped parsley to breadcrumbs and 2 tablespoons olive oil.

6. Place mixture into a 3 quart casserole dish. Spread breadcrumbs on top.

7. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until top is browned.

This dish was soo good. Great for a side dish for a pot luck or party!

I know I must sound like a broken record.. but I awoke to more snow.. .and more digging out!

Seriously.. the snow officially has NO PLACE TO GO.

Thank goodness its pretty ๐Ÿ™‚ Come on sun.. melt the white stuff!

When Liz and I came back in from shoveling we were hungry. It was ok to be late for work… good thing because my street didn’t get plowed for a while. I was so excited to have time to make FRESH oats. In fact, I decided to make an ย oatmeal bar.

  • 2 bowls of banana whipped oats – 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 skim milk, 1/4 H2O, 1/2 sliced banana & 1 tablespoon chia seeds. Boil, then simmer for 5 minutes.. then whip for a few minutes until the banana is gone and the oatmeal is creamy.
  • chocolate chips
  • peanut butter
  • craisins
  • coconut butter
  • cinnamon
  • cardamon
  • agave nectar
  • anything else your heart desires

This was my bowl.

(All the recipes on this post came from carrotsncake and katheats. Please check them both out… both these blogs are written well and have great ideas.)

Ended my 3 hour work day with a 3.6 mile run at the gym. I’m kind of sore at the moment.. but it was great. It’s amazing what a new playlist can do for a workout! The next 5K I signed up for is going to be here before I know it… MUST KEEP RUNNING ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a wonderful night or day.. depending ๐Ÿ™‚

XOXOXOX

L

