Happy Tuesday! It’s knockout day! NO TBL.. whaa whaa! January 4th can’t come soon enough!

On to cookies! I thought for sure I’d be sick and tired of cookies by now. However, I kind of missed the sweet treat after a meal. I needed to come up with a ‘healthy’ cookie recipe. After reading through many different applesauce cookie recipes.. this is what I came up with!

My Kind of Applesauce Cookies

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups applesauce
  • 4 cups whole wheat flour – Could leave some out for a more moist cookie!
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon – I always throw in some extra!
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup craisins – Could use raisins too!
  • 1 cup chocolate chip – Could use white chocolate chip!

There are many other things you could add it too! Different types of nuts, different kinds of chocolate, different fruit! This cookie could really turn into something completely different!

EASY as 1-2-3-4-5!

  1. Mix sugar, applesauce, butter. Blend.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients in another bowl.
  3. Slowly add in to wet mixture.
  4. Stir in your selections. Mine was craisins and chocolate chips!
  5. Bake 350º for 10 – 12 minutes.

Scooped nicely on the tray.. via the Pampered Chef medium scoop!

The cookies came out on the high side! But they were still delicious!

A little of dusting of powder sugar to resemble snow! I think it might be the only way I see some this winter!

I haven’t done the calorie count on these bad boys! But I can’t imagine it to be outrageous!

In the New Year, I’m going to attempt to include the calorie count as much as possible!

At the moment, I currently feel like I’m floating, in the middle, not going up and not going down! Not gaining weight, but certainly not losing weight either!  I have really upped the cardio classes this past weekend, however, I have also really upped the eating! I bumped into a friend last night at the gym and we ended up chit-chatting for a bit. We were talking about eating healthier and exercising and then she said, “Food is really 80% of it all”. Now, I knew this! I have done so much research in the last year, I even hung out with Jillian Michaels for a few days (well… me and 2,000 others!), but sometimes I just need to refocus. And yes those 4 pieces of chocolate that snuck into my mouth after lunch yesterday count. And yes, I could easily just run a few more miles. But if I say that all the time, I might be running for days!

So with that being said, my goal for the day is to watch all the sneaky chocolate that somehow ends up in my mouth and perhaps replace the chocolate with a ‘healthy’ cookie!

Oh. And drink more H2O! Don’t forget the H2O :0)

