This weekend I was in Philadelphia with two very special people. Yeah I know.. I’m not quite sure who I am half the time with all this travel.. but I figure.. WHY NOT? (Although, my house is starting to suffer.. but there is always time to clean.. right?)

Anyway, I knew this might turn into a eat your way through Philadelphia weekend, so a braced myself and went full force ahead!

We started at The Dining Car. A few weeks ago I came across this video of Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives featuring The Dining Car.. I knew we had to go!

When deciding what to order, we stuck to what the The Dining Car is famous for   Apple Walnut Pie for starters! (No Calories were counted for the reminder of my Philly Trip)

We then moved on to breakfast and lunch! Banana French Toast with scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. Chicken croquettes with mashed potatoes and gravy with a side of cheesy fries and brussel sprouts. And not to be forgotten scrapple! Scrapple is a once in a lifetime taste! If you don’t know what it is.. click here! (It’s to gross to re-write.. LOL) Craziest food combo ever!

Give me some love time! Love Park.

I always thought the letters were so much bigger!

Jo Anne, Leah and Sr. Mary Anthony

Across the street is  Board Game Art Park

This place has a collection of game pieces from many of the most popular board games of all time, in giant versions. We saw Dominoes, Chess and Monopoly pieces.

 Who is going to win? So much fun!

Bad, Bad, Bad form! Still fun though!

Do you know who this is?

It’s Sylvester Stallone from Rocky!

And here are the famous steps in front of the Art Museum that  he ran up in the first Rocky! We attempted to rent Rocky later in the day but we couldn’t find it anywhere! They only had the 6th one.. we wanted the first, the original, the best!

And a view from the top of the stairs. And NO.. I didn’t run! I walked!

Fountain in Ben Franklin Park! It was so pretty!

Sr. Mary Anthony took us to this house/court-yard that is made from 100% recycled items. Isaiah Zagar created this master piece called Magic Gardens. “Isaiah Zagar is an award-winning mosaic mural artist whose work can be found on over 100 public walls throughout the city of Philadelphia and around the world.” You can read more about him here. Truly an amazing guy!

 

Everywhere you turn there is something that catches the eye! I would LOVE to live in a place like this! I might even mosaic one of my walls.. Watch out landlords.. Leah is going to work!  

More to come from this adventure…

