You know the kind of days that disappear within a blink of the eye? Well. That was my day today! I was so excited as I was a guest blogger over at the ketchup dairies and I had every hope to put up an amazing post. Well. It’s now Monday night, people have come and gone all day! And  there was no amazing post. Well. Here goes nothing! For all my new followers.. I hope you come back often :0)

Apples. Who doesn’t love apples? I have been with children for the past 5 days. Yes. Children. I love them. I do. But they are hungry ALL THE TIME. I feel like I was snacking with them ALL DAY LONG. I’m excited to get back on track. But first I have to write a bit more on my one true saver these weekend. APPLES.

Whenever others were reaching for goldfish, or muffins, or munchkins.. I was reaching for an apple. Apples never getting boring for me. They can be turned into to many things and eaten so many different ways!

Plain. One of my favorites. Nothing like taking a huge crisp bite out of a perfectly round apple.

Turned into Apple Cinnamon Pancakes.

Made into Swedish Apple Pie.

Or put into a Chicken Curry Salad.

Shortly after arriving at my new house a few days ago. I found myself hungry. I found a few apples and half of a roasted chicken. I knew what I had to do!

Chicken Curry Salad

(the following ingredients weren’t really measured… kind of just thrown in!)

  • chicken – cooked and chopped
  • red pepper – diced
  • craisins
  • apple – diced
  • light mayo
  • low-fat plain yogurt
  • curry seasonings
  • s and p to taste

I really wasn’t quite sure about the yogurt. I put in a little, gave it a stir and tasted.  It was good. I put in a little more, gave it a stir and tasted. It was great. It was a good way to cut down a bit on the calories. Every bit counts:)

I leave you with a few photos!

AAAA-mazing. Now. What to do with a pound of carrots?

Mini-pumpkins right? NOPE. It’s Solanum Integrifolium. Or a kind of eggplant. Great in a Fall Bouquet!

There was lots of game watching this weekend too!

Tractor Sightings..

And getting lost in…

corn mazes!

Finding Windmills…

…and meeting new friends 🙂

Hope you all had a wonderful long weekend!

There are thousands of different ways to eat an apple! What is yours?


