Last Friday I had the amazing opportunity to head back to 6th grade! It was special friends day at school for the 3 kids I’m currently watching! Our 1st stop was in France!

We played B-I-N-G-O which was a lot of fun! I wish I could say I learned my numbers up to 78 (I think that is what Bingo goes up too) however, if I did that I’d be lying! I heavily relied on the help of my 6th grade counterpart! There were many posters on the walls, I asked my 6th grader what they all said. She obliged and nicely explain to me what they all mea! These 2 were my favorite:

Sois toi-mëme!

BE YOURSELF!

and

Sois gentil, Sois honnëte, Sois un ami!

BE GENTLE, BE HONEST, BE A FRIEND!

Now if only I could pronounce them correctly.

Next up was English class. Dun dun dun! I hated English class. (Probably a good reason the spelling and grammar can sometimes be so wrong on this blog.. woops!)  I was not looking forward to English class. However, I was delighted this wasn’t the case today! We first wrote our name poems.

This is what my 6th grader and I came up with:

Leah

My name is Leah.

I was named after a famous soap opera actress.

I like my name. It fits me well.

I have  only come across a few Leah’s in my life.

My dad wanted to name be Poonum.

Which means princess in Hindi.

My Mom said absolutely not.. so Leah it was!

Not to bad for a 15 minutes. We then had to use personification! Remember, when you give an object something to do!

The flower was dancing because of the sunshine.

Everyone got different objects! We got a packet of vanilla chai latte tea. I wanted to drink this so badly, but we gave that tea some actions!

Our examples:

The tea opened up and let loose its individual flavor.

and

The chai tea waltzed across my tongue!

It was a great day in 6th grade:)

After school it was time to make a Swedish Apple Pie! Holy yum is all I have to say!

The 9-year-old in the family basically made this whole thing.. so it’s VERY kid friendly!

Swedish Apple Pie


  • 3 cups peeled, cored and cut apples
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1.5 sticks butter
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon salt

1. Heat oven to 350ºF. Butter bottom of pan. Place apples in. Put lemon juice on top of apples. Sprinkle 2 tablespoons sugar. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon cinnamon.

2. In a bowl, mix, flour, sugar, melted butter, walnuts and salt.

3. Spread over apples.

4. Bake for 30-45 minutes or until the edges are brown.

Gone. 3 adults 3 kids… finished in 20 minutes flat 🙂

It was just that good!

It has been busy with 3 kids. I have much more to share with y’all so stay tuned!

Enjoy your day:)

 

 

