Saturday Morning at 8:30am I ran my very first 5K!

I wasn’t to prepared for this race fitness wise! Clothing wise.. I was right on.. I laid out my clothes and knew I had to wear my ‘favorites’!

The Mansion Run was held at Salve Regina in Newport, RI. I was happy to be returning to the Salve Campus and more excited that this was were my 1st ever 5K would take place!

Oh Salve.. How I miss thee!

We gathered outside of Rogers Rec. It was great.. there was music, food, we ย picked up our numbers (I was actually going to get my own number this time) and got revved up for the extreme race that about was take place! People… a 5K is an extreme race at this point in my life. If all works about in a few months I’ll look back at the sentence and laugh.. LOL

I was getting a bit nervous. Many thoughts were floating through my head. What the hell was I thinking? Look at all this people with their running shorts and music in hand! These people ‘look like they know what there doing’. How are you going to do this? Don’t fall! I can leave now and NO ONE would notice. As all these thoughts spun around up there, then I glanced around and saw all my friends. I knew I could do this!

Pre-race photo with the Newport Gang. Ryan, Steve, me, Heather, Alicia, Monica, Abby and Colleen. It was so great to see old friends and make new friends ๐Ÿ™‚

READY. SET. GO. (Ahhhh… wait.. what am I doing?!?!? One foot in front of the other.. just keep going.. Don’t stop. GO. GO. GO.)

I was great for the first 1.5 miles. I kept a few people in site and wouldn’t let myself fall to far behind. I even caught up at one point and gave Steph a tap on the shoulder. I just kept running. Mike, Michael, Steph and Heather were right in front of me. I knew I could do this. Then BOOM. I couldn’t. But I knew I HAD to. Then Mike turned around. He was waiting. For me? Yup.. for me. We ran a bit together then they were off again. I just kept going. I knew if I stopped there was no way of starting up again. I was a few seconds away from walking and then I saw Heather running the other way. Um.. Heather the race is the other way! LOL. She was running towards me ๐Ÿ™‚ We ran together for the last mile or so. She kept me going. Singing, laughing and distracting me from the distance we still had to go. We turned the corner together and spirited to the finish line together. 38:49. Not bad for my 1st 5K ever! Thank you guys!

Dave, Steph, Brian, me and Heather – Post-race

Michael, Steph and Mike

Love these girls ๐Ÿ˜‰

An amazing group!

These feet did it! Then completed something that was impossible 6 months ago! And now they wanted to explore Ocean Drive with Ma’s in hand :0)

The most calming place EVER!

Yummy. Iced snicker-doodle coffee and egg/cheese on an English Muffin. Perfect post run food:)

Hmm. Wonder what this was part of at one point? Maybe a house, wall, driveway or perhaps a piece of brick that never made it to its original destination and decided OD was the place to live!

Can’t you just hear the wave crashing against the rocks?!?!

Ocean Drive is a great place to fly a kite! Every weekend you can find tons of people flying kites. It’s a pretty awesome sight!

I’m in the MIDDLE of the road. I’m in the middle of my weight-loss plan, in the middle of learning about my new job, in the middle of figuring out where I REALLY want to be. Currently I’m in the middle of the road. It’s a good place to be. I like to look back and see how far I have come on my journey. I also enjoying looking in the future to see where I still have to go ๐Ÿ™‚

You can do ANYTHING you set your mind to! So go. Set your mind. And do it ๐Ÿ˜‰

