I returned to work Tuesday afternoon to find this on my desk…

 

Hmmmm?!?! Now what is this I asked myself?!?! Well look a bit more closely!

It’s Edamame! Or immature soy beans! Maybe that is why I like them so much! Just kidding!

Edamame plants being grown at Chert Hollow Farms! (Not the farm I got them from… my farm is Stone Gardens Farm!)

Edamame
Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz)
Energy 448 kJ (107 kcal)
Carbohydrates 12 g
Sugars 3 g
Dietary fiber 6 g
Fat 6 g
Protein 12

and lots of other stuff I left out!

I had to get the ‘tree’ off my desk ASAP (I did have some work to catch up on!) So I plucked the immature soy beans and this is what I was left with.

I came home and popped them into the steam basket!

Minutes later I had this to devour! Sprinkled with some freshly ground sea salt! Yummy 🙂

and BOOM… they were gone in minutes!

Full pods on the left, empty shells on the right!

What is the weirdest veggie you have come across?

